Upcoming talks Organizers
Archive:   Summer 2021   Spring 2021   Fall 2020   Summer 2020

This weekly seminar will cover topics related to point distributions, potential and discrepancy theory, and adjacent areas. The target audience is young researchers working in the listed directions, but everyone is welcome! Please share this information with anyone interested.

We meet on Wednesdays, at 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST. To join the seminar via Zoom, follow the link. It becomes active half an hour before the meeting. To join our mailing list, go here.

Previous talks are available in the Archive.

Coming up


  • Sep 15
    Nihar Gargava (EPFL)
    Lattice packings through division algebras
    We will show the existence of lattice packings in a sparse family of dimensions. This construction will be a generalization of Venkatesh's lattice packing result of 2013. In our construction, we replace the appearance of the cyclotomic number field with a division algebra over the rationals. This improves the best known lower bounds on lattice packing problem in many dimensions. The talk will cover previously known bounds, an overview of the new bounds and a live numerical simulation of Siegel's mean value theorem.

    Slides: [reveal.js]


  • Schedule and speakers



    The schedule is given in the local time for CST (Chicago) / EST (New York) / CET (Paris, Berlin) time zones; during daylight saving time it remains 10am/11am/5pm, respectively.

    Date Time Speaker Affiliation Title
    Jun 2 *11:30am CDT/12:30pm EDT/6:30pm CEST Austin Anderson and Alex White Florida State Asymptotics of Best Packing and Best Covering
    Jun 9 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Alan Legg Purdue Fort Wayne Logarithmic Equilibrium on the Sphere in the Presence of Multiple Point Charges
    Jun 16 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Assaf Goldberger Tel Aviv U Configurations, Automorphisms and Cohomology
    Jun 30 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Robert McCann UToronto Maximizing the sum of angles between pairs of lines in Euclidean space
    Jul 7 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Giuseppe Negro U of Birmingham Intermittent symmetry breaking for the maximizers to the Agmon-Hörmander estimate on the sphere
    Jul 14 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Alexander McDonald U of Rochester Volumes spanned by k-point configurations in $\mathbb R^d$
    Jul 21 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Jonathan Passant U of Rochester Configurations and Erdős style distance problems
    Jul 28 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Fátima Lizarte U of Cantabria A sequence of well conditioned polynomials
    Aug 4 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Jordi Marzo U of Barcelona Quadrature rules, Riesz energies, discrepancies and elliptic polynomials
    Aug 18 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Damir Ferizović TU Graz The spherical cap discrepancy of HEALPix points
    Aug 25 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Aicke Hinrichs JKU Linz Dispersion - a survey of recent results and applications
    Sep 1 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Friedrich Pillichshammer JKU Linz $L_2$ star, extreme and periodic discrepancy
    Sep 8 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Jan Vybíral Czech Technical University Dispersion of point sets in high dimensions
    Sep 15 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Nihar Gargava EPFL Lattice packings through division algebras
    Sep 22 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Daniel Rudolf University of Göttingen TBA
    Sep 29 10am CDT/11am EDT/5pm CEST Kateryna Pozharska Institute of Mathematics, NAS of Ukraine TBA

    Organizers


    Ryan Matzke     U of Minnesota     matzk053@umn.edu
    Tetiana Stepaniuk     Universität zu Lübeck     stepaniuk@math.uni-luebeck.de
    Alex Vlasiuk     Vanderbilt University     oleksandr.vlasiuk@gmail.com

    Previously: Damir Ferizović     TU Graz     damir.ferizovic@math.tugraz.at